KETHEL’S CHICKEN

image

 

image

 

Kethel’s Chicken is a very famous restaurant in Cochin (Kerala) it seems. Guess who said this to me… yes..my friend Juvariya… Now i have mentioned her name more than once, in my blog. It’s true that I’ve learnt a few things from her. She used to say that the fried chicken served at Kethel’s Chicken is so very hot and spicy and the whole intestine would get the sense of it. :D.. She just won’t stop boasting about the goodness of this chicken once she starts. Now that made me curious to know the taste of it. I used to to say her that next time when I and my family visit her place in Kerala, she should take us there for sure.
Last week when we had our weekend outing together, she and her husband took the honour of sponsoring the dinner. Guess wot? They took us to Kethel’s Chicken, Dubai. Yes, you heard it rite. They’ve opened a branch in Al Qusais, Dubai. And my quest ended there.. The fried chicken was really tasty. However I thought that it was not that very spicy. Even my friend thought the same thing.
Here I’ve tried to make this at home by watching a youtube video. Hope you guys like this.

image

Ingredients

750 grams of Chicken, cut into small pieces
Marination
8 dried red chillies
2 green chillies
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1 1/2 teaspoons red chilli powder
Salt to taste
Oil for deep frying

image

Method

Grind all the ingredients under marination to a coarse paste.
Marinate the chicken for atleast half an hour.
Heat the oil in a kadhai.
Fry the chicken pieces for about 10 minutes and drain it onto a kitchen paper. Serve hot.

Note:- Keeping my kids in mind, I have used kashmiri dry red chillies here, which is comparitively less spicy. But if you are using the other long dry red chilli and if you don’t want the fry to be all that spicy, then deseed the red chillies before grinding it.

 

image

Leave a Reply

