EGGLESS CHOCO-CINNAMON CAKE

Hi Friends…My son turned 4 on the 23rd of March..Alhamdulillah…Somehow I managed to whip up a cake which I thought would not be possible with my busy household chores… I made an eggless chocolate cake with a touch of cinnamon and italian meringue buttercream. My son is crazy about super-heroes. So when we asked him which super-hero he wanted to be…he replied instantly…SPIDERMAAANNN…

Since I’m not an expert in cakes and cake decorations, all I could do was, somehow draw a picture of  spiderman onto the cake. I don’t know if its over confidence or over enthusiasm, my cake never turns out the way I have envisioned it. I think my cake decoration is becoming worse by each passing day. But will I quit trying to make better cakes? I don’t think so…

image

image

Ingredients

3 cups of Cake flour
2 cups of sugar
6 tablespoons of cocoa powder
2 teaspoons of cinnamon powder
2 teaspoons of baking soda
1/4 teaspoon of salt
2 cups of hot water
12 tablespoons of oil
2 teaspoons of vanilla essence
2 teaspoons of vinegar

Method

Sift all the dry ingredients except cocoa powder.
Line a 9×13 inch baking sheet with baking paper. Or you could bake in a 2 8 inch cake tins.
Preheat the oven at 180degreesC.
Mix cocoa powder to hot water.
Add oil, essence and vinegar and mix well.
Now add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and combine well till there are no lumps.
Transfer the batter to the baking sheet and tap it on the counter to get rid of any air bubbles. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

image

image

Note:-
Cake flour = 2 tablespoons of corn flour in a measuring cup and fill the cup with all purpose flour.
The recipe is for 1 sheet cake. I made 3 such cakes.
Omit cinnamon if you don’t like the taste of it.

Leave a Reply

