Saturday Morning Bakes : CHOCOLATE BREAD

Yet another saturday…!!! I skipped my Saturday Morning Bakes for the last 2 weeks. August 29th and September 5th. I feel so bad that I couldn’t post anything on August 29th despite making Red Velvet Cupcakes. I chose to make Red Velvet Cuppies because it was my 11th Wedding Anniversary on that day and I wanted to make something special and indulging. I had some guests coming over on that day and so didn’t get any time to click the frosted cuppies before serving.

image

And on September 5th, I make Dates and Carrot Ghee Cake. Didn’t get to post that as well. Wanna know why?
This was how my cake looked straight out of the oven.
image

Kept it on the rack to cool down and went on to do some random household chores. And minutes later I came to find that my son has actually digged in. He had no patience to have mama’s cake. 🙂
image

So atleast this week I didn’t want any hassles and baked my Chocolate breads a day ahead. Yippiee…
image

image

Ingredients

All purpose flour   –   240 grams

Cake Flour   –   60 grams

Sugar   –   40 grams

Salt   –   5 grams

Instant yeast   –   6 grams

Milk   –   10 grams

Butter   –   30 grams, softened

Water   –   150 ml

Egg   –   1

Egg yolk   –   1, for eggwash

Chocolate bars   –   chopped into strips
image

Method

Add all the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix.

Make a well in the centre and add egg, milk and water and knead into a soft dough.

Add butter and knead well.

Cover with cling wrap and keep it in a warm area for proofing, either for one hour or till the dough rises to double volume.

Deflate the dough on a floured surface and divide it into 10 equal balls.

Loosely cover it with a cling wrap.

Roll one ball at a time into an oval shape, place chocolate strips on one edge and cut the other edge into stripes, fold over and tuck the sides underneath.

Transfer it to a lined baking tray.

Loosely cover with a cling wrap once you are done with all the breads and keep it for another 45 minutes to one hour.

Preheat the oven.

Remove the cling wrap and brush the top of the bread with egg yolk and bake it for 20 minutes at 175C.

image

ENJOY !!!

2 responses to “Saturday Morning Bakes : CHOCOLATE BREAD

Leave a Reply

