MUTTON CURRY

image

               Time is running very fast. Really very fast. My daughter’s 2 months vacation is almost getting over and it’s gonna be “Back to School” time again. My head goes blank and I almost faint whenever I think of those hectic mornings. It’s gonna be all the more difficult with the tiny tot ( my 6 month old Hamna) around. I don’t know how but she wakes up and cries rite at that busy busy time in the morning… :-/ But it’s all part and parcel of a blessed life. 🙂 Alhamdulillah…

image

              I haven’t noticed until today that there was not even a single mutton recipe in my blog. Mutton being one of my favourite items, how come I missed it. Nevertheless…it’s not too late for anything. Here’s a very simple mutton curry that goes well with rice or rotis or anything.

image

Ingredients

Mutton – 1/2 kg

Onion – 3 medium, finely chopped

Tomato – 1 big, finely chopped

Garlic – 7-8 cloves, crushed

Ginger – 1 inch piece, crushed

Turmeric powder – 1/4 teaspoon

Red chilli powder – 1/2 teaspoon

Pepper powder – 1 teaspoon

Coriander powder – 1 tablespoon

Meat masala – 1 tablespoon

Salt – to taste

Oil – 1/4 cup

Coriander leaves – 2 tablespoon, finely chopped

image

Method

Heat oil in a pressure cooker.

Sautè onion till transparent.

Add tomato. Cover and cook in low flame for 5 minutes or till the tomato becomes soft and mushy.

Add ginger and garlic and sautè for another 30 seconds.

Add in all the powdered spices and sautè till the raw smell evaporates.

Add mutton and 2 cups of water. Let it boil.

Adjust salt and cover the pressure cooker and cook.

Now every pressure cooker will behave differently.

While cooking mutton in my pressure cooker, what I do is, after the first whistle I check the time and cook for 13-15 minutes more.

By that time the mutton will be cooked.

Finally add coriander leaves at the time of serving.

This is the simplest Mutton Curry ever. Do try it out and give a feedback.

Till then.., Happy Cooking…

image

Leave a Reply

