STEAMED MARBLE CAKE

             image

                  I have been dying to bake for the past few months. I think the last time I baked was in the month of January. Even my kids were longing for a home-baked cake. Whenever I feel like baking, there would be some issues that pulls me back from baking. But now I’ve given myself a much needed push and here I am with a simple cake. A Marble Cake…..
This time I’ve used a steamer rather than an oven to bake the cake. Well, there is a technical issue with my oven 😦 .

Ingredients

Butter   –   150 grams
Sugar   –   150 grams
Egg.     – 3
All purpose flour.  –   150 grams
Baking powder.  –   1 1/2 teaspoon
Vanilla essence.  –   1 teaspoon
Cocoa powder.  –   1 tablespoon

image

Method

Make sure all ingredients are in room temperature.
Sift all purpose flour and baking powder and set aside.
Grease an 8 inch baking tin with butter and flour.
Prepare a steamer on the gas stove.
In a bowl beat butter and castor sugar. If using granulated sugar, I recommend to first grind the sugar to a fine powder.
Beat butter and sugar until creamy texture.
Add eggs one by one and beat until well incorporated.
No add in the flour mixture and mix without any lumps.
Add vanilla essence and mix.
Divide the batter equally into two bowls.
Add sifted cocoa powder to one bowl and mix well.
Now scoop a spoonful of brown batter and pour it in the center of the baking tin.
Next scoop a.spoonful of white batter and pour it in the middle of the brown batter.
Repeat the process by alternating each batter until the whole batter is used up.

image
Tap the baking tin on the counter-top and then place it in the steamer for 45 minutes.
If you prefer baking instead of steaming, you could also bake.at 180 degrees C for 25 to 30 minutes. But don’t forget to preheat the oven initially.

image

image

5 responses to “STEAMED MARBLE CAKE

Leave a Reply

