CHICKEN TIKKA SPRING ROLL

image

 

Here is a wonderful snack for the tea time. Normally I make snacks during Ramadan. Otherwise I don’t make much snacks. Even in my blog I have only one or two snacks recipes posted.

Recently I and my daughter was relaxing on the couch and surfing through the channels and there came food food. Normally my daughter who’s just 6 ½ years old, don’t like watching cookery shows. But that day she began to show some unusual interest in watching the cookery show. It was ‘high tea’ at that time and what Chef Ajay Chopra made was this Chicken Tikka Spring Roll.

He said that this used to be his top-selling item for almost 3 years. Hmm..,I thought definitely I should give it a try. Hana was drooling over the spring roll. So I promised to myself that I’m definitely gonna make it…

 

image

 

Ingredients

Chicken tikka, cooked   –   8 medium sized boneless pieces

Spring roll sheets   –   4-6

Fresh mint sprigs, finely chopped   –   1 tablespoon

Fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped   –   2 tablespoon

Green chilli, finely chopped   –   1

Ginger, finely chopped   –   1 ½ teaspoon

Onion, finely chopped   –   1, medium

Lemon juice   –   3 teaspoon

Mint chutney   –   3 tablespoon

Mayonnaise   –   3 tablespoon

All purpose flour, for sealing   –   2 tablespoon

Water   –   5 tablespoon

Oil   –   for deep frying

 

 

Method

 

Cut the chicken tikka pieces into small dices and put it in a bowl.

 

image

 

Add finely chopped mint, coriander leaves, green chilli, ginger, onion, 2 teaspoon lemon juice, 1 ½ tablespoon mint chutney, 2 tablespoon mayonnaise and mix well. Add salt at this stage if you prefer. I did add.

 

image

 

Mix all purpose flour and water to a smooth paste.

 

Place a spring roll sheet on the work surface. Put generous amount of chicken tikka mixture diagonally, leaving the edges for folding. Now roll it tightly and seal the edges with the flour mixture.

 

Heat sufficient oil in a wok. Deep fry spring rolls till golden brown and crisp. Drain on absorbent paper.

 

Combine remaining mayonnaise, remaining mint chutney and remaining lemon juice in a bowl. Mix well and serve with spring rolls.

 

image

Now this dip is to die for…

 

 

image

 

               Well it’s tea time and I’m serving this with orange juice. Never mind. This dish is so delicious that anything will work with it. In short this snack was an instant hit at my home. My hubby and my kids were asking for more…

Leave a Reply

