KAPPA PAYASAM / TAPIOCA KHEER

FINALLY…..

               After a gap of almost a year … I’m back at my little space… I can’t describe how much I missed being here. But sometimes life gets into a situation where how much ever time we get…it’s never enough. That’s the reason why I haven’t been around for such a voluminous time.

               Anyways today I had to be here. It’s my blog anniversary and my Hubby Dear’s Birthday. Even though there are 2 celebrations, I’m up with a very simple and easy kheer/payasam. Kappa Payasam/Tapioca Kheer is a very simple preparation, yet very delicious in taste. So without further ado, let’s quickly move on to the recipe.

CYMERA_20141101_200255

Ingredients

Kappa / Tapioca   –   1 cup, grated

Milk   –   5 cups

Sugar   –   1 ¼ cups

Condensed milk   –   200ml/half tin

Sago   –   ¼ – ½ cup (according to your preference)

Water   –   2 cups + 1 ½ cups

Salt   –   a pinch

Ghee   –   3 tablespoon

Cashews   –   10 – 15, chopped

Raisins   –   1 teaspoon

CYMERA_20141101_200440

Method

Combine milk, 2 cups of water and sugar in a large pot and heat it till boiling point.

At the same time wash sago and cook it in 1 ½ cups of water in a saucepan.

Add a pinch of salt to the milk mixture.

Make sure that you stir both the mixtures continuously.

When the milk reaches its boiling point, add kappa/tapioca and mix well. It takes only 5-10minutes to get cooked.

Add in the sago. I simply love the bite of sago. I usually add it in every payasam I make. That doesn’t mean I make payasam all the time.

Now add the condensed milk and mix thoroughly.

Final procedure… heat ghee and fry cashews and raisins. Don’t burn it. Add it in the payasam and it’s ready to be served.

CYMERA_20141101_200546

Leave a Reply

