HAPPY ONAM

Image

     Onam is over and so are the school holidays… 😦 … By the way Onam is a festival celebrated by the people of Kerala. It is also the Harvest festival of Kerala. Two things that comes into my mind when I hear onam is that of an elaborate onam sadya (feast) and the pookkalam(floral carpet). Now-a-days pookkalam is also limited to competitions I guess. I’m not a person who celebrates onam. For me onam is all about sadya which is usually served in a long banana leaf. Various types of vegetarian dishes will be made. I always wanted to dish out sadya at home but never had the guts for it. But this time I gave it a try..ahhem. I just made a few items. There are still lots of items to be included…maybe next time… InShaAllah…

So here’s a small menu of what I’ve made…..

Rice, obviously

Sambar

Avail

Koottukari

Pachadi

Upperi

Rasam

Moru kari and that’s it…

And last but not the least…

Cherupayar Payasam/Split Moong Dal Kheer

2 responses to “HAPPY ONAM

Leave a Reply

