PAAL PAYASAM

Hi Friends….

Look who’s here… a new BLOGGER in ACTION. Well I’ve been thinking of starting a blog for almost a year now (better late than never)… and my first dilemma was what would I write about. Then I thought of my experimental cooking and maybe something else to add with it… Again what bothered me was the presentation skills and photography… and not to forget – the ‘write ups’. I’m good at none of the above as most of you who knows me would know. It is so amazing to see how other bloggers maintain their blog so beautifully. But then, what’s wrong in givin’ it a try!? One thing I promise, I’ll post only successful dishes from my whole loads of experiments…

So here’s my first post… a combination of 3… Paalpayasam, Rasgulla, and a Black Forest Cake… Actually,  it’s a Black Forest Rasgulla cake for which I made the Rasgullas.
Today there are 2 occasions. One is Kerala’s Birthday (kerala piravi) and the other one is my hubby’s birthday.

So let’s get started with Paal Payasam/Rice Kheer


Ingredients



Raw Rice (basmati or kunhari as we say) – ½ cup
Water       2 – 2 ½ cups
Milk      1 litre
Sugar       ½ cup
Condensed milk       4-5  tbsp
Sago      2 handful
Ghee      3 tsp
Cashewnuts      15-20 cracked

Method
   I prefer soaking the rice first. Take a heavy bottomed vessel. Add rice , water and cook well. Mash the cooked rice with a wooden spoon and add sago and sugar. Let it boil for another 10 minutes. Add milk and boil again. Add condensed milk and stir well. Remove from heat when it boils. The payasam will be thickened when it cools down. So be careful to turn off the flame before it thickens.
Take another pan. Heat ghee and fry cashews in it till golden brown and add it to the payasam…stir…
…and paal payasam is ready… 

 

2 responses to “PAAL PAYASAM

Leave a Reply

