Black Forest Rasgulla Cake

 
 
 
        I love to bake even though my baking skills are very low. Initially when I started to bake I used to get crumbled cakes… My cakes would always be either undercooked or burnt… and I always blame my oven for that. But I kept on trying and hoped for the best…and gradually I succeeded in baking somewhat good looking cakes… Black Forest Cake is one of my favourites and I’ve made it so many times… it’s a never fail recipe for me…
Ingredients
 
Maida – 1 cup
Cocoa powder – ½ cup
Powdered sugar – 1 ½ cups
Eggs – 9
Unsalted butter – 150 gms
Vanilla essence – 1 ½ tsp
 
For filling and decoration
 
Whipping powder – 3 cups
Cold milk – 1 cup
Glazed cherries – approx 15
Chocolate curls – accordingly
Fruit cocktail – 1 tin
Rasgullas – 10-12
 
For soaking syrup
 
Water – 1 cup
Sugar – ½ cup
 

       Method

 
Grease a baking tin by applying butter and dusting some maida-cocoa mixture. Tap out excess.
Pre-heat the oven to 180 degree C.
Sift maida and cocoa powder 2 times.
Melt butter in a pan and keep aside.
Take a big bowl. Break the eggs in it (I’ve used 9 medium sized eggs because I’m using a 10 inch cake tin).

Add powdered sugar and vanilla essence to the eggs. Beat with an electric mixer till it becomes creamy and fluffy.

Now add the flour mixture little by little and mix it in slowly with a wooden spoon or a spatula.
Next add the melted butter gradually and mix it well. 

Pour the batter into the prepared tin and bake for abt 40-45 minutes.

To check if the cake is done, insert a skewer in the centre of the cake. If the skewer comes out clean then your cake is ready.
 
         For soaking syrup, heat a wok. Add water and sugar and stir until sugar melts and the syrup becomes slightly thick. We can also use the syrup of fruit cocktail as soaking syrup. Here I used the syrup of rasgulla.
 
To make whipping cream, take a big bowl. Add milk and whipping powder. Beat with an electric mixer until stiff peaks are formed.

Assembling

Cut the cake into 3 layers.

Put the bottom layer on a tray. Sprinkle some soaking syrup on top of it.

Spread whipping cream and top it with sliced rasgullas and some fruit pieces or cherry pieces.

Repeat the process with the next layer. Now put topmost layer and cover the cake with whipping cream.

Decorate the cake with glazed cherries and chocolate curls.
That’s it…the cake is ready…
 
 

linking this to Vardhini’s bake fest and thou shalt cook

6 responses to “Black Forest Rasgulla Cake

  1. Do we just need 150 gms of flour and nine eggs? Won’t this make the cake too eggy?
    I have been planning on making this cake, and yours is looking truly exceptional..I would really appreciate it if you could clear my doubts!

    Like

    • sorry ronak for the late reply…..for me, 1 cup flour and nine eggs were perfect…and there was no eggy smell at all…..we also add cocoa powder and vanilla essence…that’ll give you a chocolate smell 🙂 … so don’t worry….go ahead and make this cake…or have you already made it…???

      Like

Leave a Reply

